Pentatonic Scale

[x_section style=”margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px; padding: 45px 0px 45px 0px; “][x_row inner_container=”true” marginless_columns=”false” bg_color=”” style=”margin: 0px auto 0px auto; padding: 0px 0px 0px 0px; “][x_column bg_color=”” type=”1/1″ style=”padding: 0px 0px 0px 0px; “][x_text]

The pentatonic scale is the most important

The history of the pentatonic scale

 blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah

What does pentatonic mean?

The word pentatonic has two significant meanings for musicians. Penta means five and tonic tone.  So the pentatonic scale is a five-tone scale. Five sounds organised in a specific sequence and arrived at using intervals. An interval is a unit of measurement. Used to describe distance between tones or chords.

Pentatonic scale Intervallic structure 

 major pentatonic

 the scale 1 2 3 5 6

 minor pentatonic

1 b3 4 5 b7

There are two important types of pentatonic scales for musicians.

The first being major the second minor pentatonic.

Minor pentatonic scales are extracted from the seven-note major scale.

We do this by omitting or removing the 4th and 7th notes of the parent major scale.


Comments 10

  1. I apologize to you for making a somewhat mean comment to you a while back.
    I think I was just in a bad mood. You are a good guitar tutor and seem like
    a cool dude as well.

  2. At first I was scared and confused from how you were talking, then I
    started to understand and it actually felt gratifying, thanks man:)

  3. I have a guitar that looks like it must be a rough copy of the one you use
    in this video. Yours looks like it’s a Gibson whereas mine’s just an
    Ibanez. But for my level of skill it works fine. Question: Wasn’t that
    shape originally created by Gretch? 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.